By Aimee “Ashlanne” Rekoske

We’ve jumped into Fall! That means cooler weather and more SOE Employees to meet! We want you to get to know folks in Marketing, Customer Service, Development, Operations, Quality Assurance, Facilities, Audio Visual, and Finance, just to name a few.

Each month the Community Team will highlight one of SOE’s many diverse employees. Please meet Shawna Matthews, Game Master in Customer Service*at SOE! Take a moment to find out about what a typical day in the office is like for her, what her favorite SOE game is, and other fun tidbits. As a special bonus, we include a screenshot from her favorite SOE game!

Tell us about yourself! What’s your name and what do you do here at SOE? How long have you been working at SOE?

My name is Shawna Matthews (GM SparkleMotion) and I am a GM on DCUO or DC Universe Online. *I have been working at SOE for about 4 years now.* Gosh, has it been that long?* I have previously worked on both Everquest and Star Wars® Galaxies.** I have to say they have all been fun.

How did you get into the industry?

This is my first step into the gaming industry.* People may be surprised to see exactly how much work we actually all do here.* It’s all been fun though.* I have gotten to get a little sample of different parts of the industry and now I know where I want to end up.* I have also discovered that I want to stick with SOE.* I believe in the games we are putting out and the amazing creativity of the people making them.

Tell us what a typical workday is like for you.

I know the standard reply is “No day is typical”, but it really applies.* A GM’s day is really dictated by what is going on in your game.* DC can be especially varied because of how often we release DLC content for the game.* The only really consistent thing about my day here is my lunch-break nap. No really, I love napping. People should really consider napping more often.